CST/CDT Central Time Zone

Standard time and daylight time is observed by this time zone; CST Central Standard Time is 6 hours behind of UTC/GMT time and CDT Central Daylight Time is behind by 5 hours.

Central Daylight Time:
Saturday June 22nd 10:30am CDT
Status: Time Zone: UTC/GMT Offset:
Being Observed
CDT -05:00
Central Standard Time:
Saturday June 22nd 9:30am CST
Status: Time Zone: UTC/GMT Offset:
Not Being Observed CST -06:00
Year: CDT Begins: CDT Ends:
2026 Sunday March 8th Sunday November 1st
2025 Sunday March 9th Sunday November 2nd
2024 Sunday March 10th Sunday November 3rd
2023 Sunday March 12th Sunday November 5th
2022 Sunday March 13th Sunday November 6th

Countries which observe the CST/CDT time zone:


  • Canada*
  • Mexico*
  • United States*

(*) indicates that the time zone is only observed in certain areas of the country. No asterisk indicates that the entire country observes this time zone.

Areas in Canada which observe the Central Time Zone

Province of Manitoba, western Nunavut and a portion of Ontario near Manitoba observe CST and CDT.

Most of Saskatchewan observes CST year round except for Lloydminster which observes Mountain time.

States in Mexico which observe the Central Time Zone

  • Aguascalientes
  • Campeche
  • Chiapas
  • Coahuila
  • Colima
  • Durango
  • Guanajuato
  • Guerrero
  • Hidalgo
  • Jalisco
  • Mexico
  • Michoacán
  • Morelos
  • Nuevo León
  • Oaxaca
  • Puebla
  • Querétaro
  • San Luis Potosí
  • Tabasco
  • Tamaulipas
  • Tlaxcala
  • Veracruz
  • Yucatán
  • Zacatecas

All of the above Mexican states observe CST as well as CDT

US states which observe the Central Time Zone

  • Alabama (except for Lanett, Phenix City, Smiths Station and Valley)
  • Arkansas
  • Florida Panhandle (Apalachicola River near Alabama border)
  • Illinois
  • Indiana (near the border of Illinois and Kentucky)
  • Iowa
  • Kansas (except for Sherman, Wallace, Greeley and Hamilton counties)
  • Kentucky (areas west of Louisville, KY and near the Nashville, TN metropolitan area)
  • Louisiana
  • Michigan (except for counties which border Wisconsin)
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Nebraska (eastern parts)
  • North Dakota (most of the state except for southwest areas near Montana and South Dakota)
  • Oklahoma
  • South Dakota (eastern part)
  • Tennessee (mid and western area)
  • Texas (except Hudspeth and El Paso counties)
  • Wisconsin

All of the above US states observe CST as well as CDT

« List of World Time Zones