EST/EDT Eastern Time Zone

Standard time and daylight time is observed by this time zone; EST Eastern Standard Time is 5 hours behind of UTC/GMT time and EDT Eastern Daylight Time is behind by 4 hours.

Eastern Daylight Time:
Tuesday May 28th 4:50pm EDT
Status: Time Zone: UTC/GMT Offset:
Being Observed
EDT -04:00
Eastern Standard Time:
Tuesday May 28th 3:50pm EST
Status: Time Zone: UTC/GMT Offset:
Not Being Observed EST -05:00
Year: EDT Begins: EDT Ends:
2026 Sunday March 8th Sunday November 1st
2025 Sunday March 9th Sunday November 2nd
2024 Sunday March 10th Sunday November 3rd
2023 Sunday March 12th Sunday November 5th
2022 Sunday March 13th Sunday November 6th

Countries which observe the EST/EDT time zone:


  • Bahamas
  • Canada*
  • Haiti
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • United States*

(*) indicates that the time zone is only observed in certain areas of the country. No asterisk indicates that the entire country observes this time zone.

Areas in the US which observe the Eastern Time Zone

Note that all of the US states listed below observe EST as well as EDT time.

  • Alabama
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Georgia
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia

The following states only partially observe the eastern time zone:

  • Florida (all except areas west of the Apalachicola River)
  • Indiana (except areas near Chicago)
  • Kentucky (all except western half)
  • Michigan (all except Dickinson, Gogebic, Iron and Menominee counties)

Areas in Mexico which observe the Eastern Time Zone

The Mexican state Quintana Roo (which is where CancĂșn is located) moved from Central standard time to eastern standard time in 2015. Note that Quintana Roo only observes only EST.

Areas in Canada which observe the Eastern Time Zone

  • Ontario (majority of the province observes the eastern time zone. Both EST and EDT is observed)
  • Nunavut (all except Dickinson, Gogebic, Iron and Menominee counties)
  • QuĂ©bec observes EST and EDT
« List of World Time Zones